TTN Mapper only records strong signals or nothing

Hi Forum,
I’m relatively new to LoRaWAN (but not to electronics and software). I installed a gateway in my house, prepared a EPS32 based test-board and registered all with TTN. Then I did some coverage test by using the TTN-Mapper Android App.

I was a bit disappointed by the results. But maybe that’s OK, because the gateway is located inside (though on roof level) and uses currently the built-in antenna.
But what makes me wonder is the fact, that I was only able to record high RSSI signals (in the attached screen-shot only red and a few orange beams). I would have expected to see - moving away from the gateway - after strong signals medium signals, finally weak signals and only then loose the connection to the gateway. But for me it was strong signals or nothing.
Is my expectation wrong?
Is there something one can do wrong while doing the measurement?
Could it be a configuration issue? For me it looks like I have checked somewhere “accept only strong signals”, though I’m not aware of any setting in that direction.

Thank you for your suggestions!
Christian

Red & Orange are good names for Reservoir Dogs but aren’t numbers so it’s hard to be specific.

When the device is at home just outside, what signal measurements do you get? That provides a benchmark, as the other tracks appear to have to go through houses …

Plus all the other information, literally everything you can possibly think of, gateway make & model, antenna, where inside is the antenna, you say roof level, what is the roof made of, are you in a dip or on a hill, what is the antenna on the ESP32 board, what is the board, what is the firmware, how are you connecting, is this on SF7, is ADR on, etc etc etc.

RF is a dark art, like Professor Snape type dark art - outside your house you may be under the antennas polar - like being under an umbrella, so you may have to try smaller distances away your own street.

Hi Descartes,
Thank you for your reply.