US 915 RAK 831 gateway in the UK

Hi. I am new to IOT and would appreciate some advice. I am setting up a gateway in the UK and due to the chip shortage I could only get hold of US915 RAK 831 hats for RPIs. I did some research and in 2013 the UK governing body OFCOM released both 868 and 915 MHz in the UK. Is it possible to setup a US915 gateway in the UK using the TTN network?

No, even if another frequency band were legal (which I donā€™t think is actually the case), you may only connect gateways to TTN which operate on a frequency plan which TTN uses in your location.

TTN most definitely does not use 900 MHz in the UK.

You must not do this.

Thatā€™s news! Can you show where you saw that.

Perhaps @Jeff-UK, a UK based gateway aficionado could comment.

There is a frequency allocation in IRE2020 (UK document) for the 915Mhz area, but that does not mean you can use the frequncy regardless, there will be bandwidth and allowable duty cycles to consider.

It would take a bit of work (if its not allready been done) to check that existing TTN 915Mhz plans would fit with the UK allocations.

But if TTN do not approve a 915Mhz plan for UK use, end of story I would think.

Hi all, thank you for the feedback.

The above discusses the release of 915 Mhz on license free use, but as you say, if TTn does not allow it then end of story. Is there a way I can check this?

The UK allocation is 915Mhz to 921Mhz.

So called ā€˜US915ā€™ frequency plan, is US902-928;

https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/docs/lorawan/frequency-plans/

Which uses frequencies from;

903.9Mhz to 927.5Mhz

So outside of the 915Mhz to 921Mhz permitted in the UK.

Can the band on the US 915 RAK 831 gateway be set to the allowed UK bandwidth and used on the TTN network?

I posted an update to the planned (UK/EU) hamonisation to the forum some time in the last 12-36 months - but damned if I can find it now - wasted hours looking last night! :frowning: