USB Dongle

Hi all,

I’m new to LoRa and I was wondering if there is a LoRa USB dongle anyone can recommend? I’ve found https://www.amazon.com/iFrogLab-gateway-Raspberry-Windows-LoRaWAN/dp/B01N1YHMMA but I’m not sure if there are others?

I also assume, depending on frequency band, they’d have to be different dongles, correct? While on the software end of things, I assume the interfaces will be reasonably similar if not identical, right?

Many thanks, best regards,
Christoph

Perhaps give the forum some idea of the application, that might affect what is recomended.

For TTN you need a LoRaWAN dongle. Note there is a significant difference because not all LoRa hardware has LoRaWAN software on board. And due to the strict timing requirements of LoRa USB is not the best interface to implement LoRaWAN on top of a LoRa module.

Please note, we only do LoRaWAN on TTN here.

Assume is the start of the LoRaWAN train wreck. Finding one LoRa dongle doesn’t make for there being many dongles.

Not in the slightest. Mostly as you can’t make a gateway out of a single radio chip which is the one on that USB device, despite what they are suggesting. You’ll end up with a Single Channel Packet Forwarder which is non-compliant, disruptive to the network and will waste an enormous amount of your time troubleshooting your devices which will expect to be have a gateway in the mix, which can hear on 8 channels and 8 spreading factors simultaneously, unlike the dongle which will be able to manage just one.

Ignoring the seductive price of bad hardware, what is it you want to do?

Thanks for your replies! Much appreciated!

I’m working on an Edge Computing Platform called Gravio.com and I am trying to figure out if there is an angle we can integrate to The Things Network. We’ve already created a USB dongle for Zigbee and for EnOcean, so I am now exploring TTN…

Our server software runs on Linux/MacOS and Windows.