Waveshare Lora hat for Raspi to create node - how to?

Hi,

I am quite new to LORA and TTN. I was able to add gateways to TTN, at home and at work. And, I was able to establish communication using ESP32s. Data arrived, and I was able to establish regular data exchange. Like it!

Now I want to use a raspi and a waveshare LORA hat to create a node. However, the vendor does not supply any examples for running a node, and it seems noone else was trying so far AND posting examples on the internet. Or, I am looking for the wrong terms. Any help from you, guys? I gues adding the hardware is straigh forward, since it is a shield which plugs ontop the raspi pinheader. But how to make use of it in software? And how to run it using TTN - except the registration, which is clear to me.

Thanks for any pointers or help.

Peter

1 Like

Given the timing required for LoRaWAN receive windows that might be a challenge on a system that is basically not real-time.

too bad. Seems this is just the wrong module for me.

One option would be to hand wire the PI radio card instead to something like an ARM-based Arduino and delegate the LoRaWAN task to that.

The Adafruit folks were working on a partial implementation of LoRaWAN in python, but it may be that it is transmit-only, in which case you’d have to operate it at a fairly low duty cycle or the fixed setting implicit in that would be considered a bit impolite.

In theory, with a mains-powered node you could just run the receiver for a much longer interval around the formal RX window and not worry about precise receive timing as much, but this tends to mean operating the receiver with a different approaching to discovering if it heard anything, so you’d have to invest some real time in learning how it works.