What Gateway should I use?

Hey Guys, Sorry I’m new to the LoRaWAN network and I need a little bit help choosing my first device for my gateway.

But my first problem is, that I don’t understand quite well, what is, for example, the difference between TTN and Helium. As far as I understand, both are LoRaWAN Networks.

Well, let’s say it this way: One of my goals is to use LoRaWAN Devices myself. Devices like Sensors, GPS-Trackers and Shields for Arduino. My second goal is providing a network, other people can use. I live in a holiday destination, so here are many tourists with dogs. And I want that their LoRaWAN GPS Collars are working here.

Now, when I’m looking on to the coverage Map of TTN and Helium, the area where I live is “empty”. On the Helium Network there is just a blank spot here, and on the TTN Map there are just two Gateways in the whole City.

But now the honest question is: If I buy, for example, a new GPS Tracker, why should I connect it to the TTN Network, instead of the Helium Network, that has greater coverage?

Somehow I have a feeling, that it would be much better to just use a gateway, that supports both networks in parallel (on the same antenna), TTN and Helium and maybe other. Well, I don’t give a *** about Mining and so on. I’m just interested in the LoRaWAN Coverage.

So can some one tell me, what kind of gateway I can use?

Thx!

i can share only my personal experiences : never take Helium- this network is having a huge problem and soon there will be more than only a major issue happen to them .A lot of loud voices on all social media channels call it an overpriced hardware selling scam and i tend to confirm this …