Best air quality sensor to connect to TTN?

Hi!

I’m a complete newbie and would like to know the best (affordable) types of air quality sensor to communicate with the Things Gateway?

Thanks

1 Like

It depends on what you want to measure, gasses, particulates, etc. There are different sensors for each, all with their own specification and use. You’d also need to consider the calibration and accuracy of the sensors and how you’d verify that the readings they produce are correct.

thanks

Andrew

Air quality is a complex matter. There are many sensors out on the market, but I have stumbled upon only two coming products specifically designed for LoRa. One is called LP8 from SenseAir in Sweden. The other one is from SensorsConnect, you can read about it in this blog post. And the previous blog post briefly covers air quality.

Volatile Organic Compounds are interesting especially regarding indoor air quality. For cheap sensors to make DIY modules you might want to take a look at what Seeed has to offer, and especially their list of how to choose a gas sensor.

1 Like

Thanks @thinginnovations . Let’s say I’d like to measure NO2 and CO2 concentrations. Any particular sensors you can suggest that are LoRaWAN compatible? I’m just looking for something fairly basic to get started on a very simple project - measuring air quality outside my home using the Things Gateway.

Also, could you elaborate on the issue of verifying accuracy of readings?

Thanks!

Thanks @flonnfor for the pointers. The initial two sensors you mentioned are not yet available though, are they?

Unrelated to LoRaWAN, for the Dutch, from the National Institute for Public Health and the Environment (Rijksinstituut voor Volksgezondheid en Milieu, RIVM):

You are right, they can’t be purchased yet. Although SenseAirs product might be ready, maybe we should mail and ask :smile:

Just my two cents.