Connecting the Multi tech gateway to things networks

Hi to all, im a little new to LoRaWAN technology but have gathered some of the information up til now. I have a multi tech gateway MTCDT-H5-210A-AU with a lora chip in it MTAC-LORA-915 and couple of Mdot devices also MTUDK2-ST-MDOT(included 915MHz antenna). But i dont know from where to start actually and how to set up the gateway and connect it to the ttn server to make it running. Please advice me how to start and get things working.

Thanks,

Aamir Shabbir Hussain

1 Like

To set up the gateway, use the instructions at new MultiTech Installer for TheThingsNetwork. This will setup the gateway to use wired network, use the instructions at step 5 of this page on the MultiTech site to setup the cellular link.

He is using the Conduit AEP, not the Linux version.

It’s frustrating for us AEP (GUI mode) owners, as there is very little step by step help.

I’ll see what I can do to make conversion easier for AEP owners. Connecting the AEP to TTN would imply loosing AEP functions as having two backends (the EAP embedded one and TTN) control the radio is asking for trouble.

So are you saying using the AEP model makes it difficult/impossible to connect to TTN?
I am new to LoRa, so I can’t read into the subtlety of some answers.
Thank you.

1 Like

I wasn’t trying to be subtle.

I know it won’t be impossible because other people did it, I don’t think it will be difficult, but that opinion is based on documentation only, not practical experience trying to convert a gateway. If everything goes according to plan one of the forum users will help me convert a Linux conduit to AEP over the weekend so I can start working on some documentation or (hoping) adapt my installation script to work for AEP as well.

Oh, I see, you are going to attempt to convert your Linux over to AEP. Got it.

Thank you for your help.