Discussion point: V3 console is too complicated

An interesting point that came up during a community session at one of the conferences is that the V3 console is too complicated. It prevents adoption from newcomers, but even for veterans like myself it is very difficult getting all the settings correct when registering a new device. And now we’re not even talking about migrating an old device. Debugging is also much more difficult due to too many log output lines.

Coft, Staging and V2 were great because of their simplicity, and that’s likely the reason for the fast adoption of TTN the past 5 years.

What are your opinions? Perhaps we can make a list of suggestions for TTI to consider.

17 Likes

I’ve been using Chirpstack for the last 3 years and the user experience is remarkably more simple on that platform than v3.

I still don’t understand why I need to have one application for each payload encoder even though it’s unlikely that I’ll be deploying exactly the same devices to each project - most projects will include agritech sensors, weather stations, air quality monitors etc., all of which come from different manufacturers with different codecs so then instead of having one application per “customer” or project, I need to have at least three applications per customer/project. Chirpstack allows you to select the decoder at the device level, so I can have a single project with devices from multiple manufacturers in it, all being decoded correctly.

The “auto add” of devices is a great idea, but there don’t seem to be that many devices out there - certainly for Tektelic there are a significant number of their sensors missing so you have to go down the manual route.

FWIW, I prefer the three-step process of registering a device but again, coming from chirpstack where it’s a single form, this is definitely less straight forward than other offerings out there.