Industrial IoT: Raspberry Pi as LoRaWAN node

Hey everyone, I’m new to LoRa.
I want to send PLC data over LoRa to a LoRaWAN-Gateway. Because the PLC has no LoRaWAN support, I need an interface. I thought of a Raspberry PI with some kind of attachment which proceeds the data from the PLC (OPC UA) and then sends data over LoRaWAN to my gateway.
Is this approach reasonable?

During research, in 99% the Raspberry Pi is a LoRaWAN gateway. On what I learned in this use-case the Pi should need it to be a end-node. So is there a way of sending data from a raspberry pi to a LoRaWAN gateway?

Feel free to correct me, if I misunderstood something about LoRaWAN. It helps me learn.
Thanks in advance
~Nick