LDS02 not joining - Range issue?

Hi,

I am a newbie. I got a LDS02 and I thought i could connect to a publicly available gateway on TTN. Unfortunately when adding the device to the portal. I get the following error:

No activity yet

{
  "time": "2023-12-14T19:28:48.018Z",
  "name": "synthetic.error.unknown",
  "isError": true,
  "isSynthetic": true,
  "unique_id": "synthetic.1702582128018",
  "data": {
    "error": "Error: timeout"
  }
}

Please can you help me check if my device should be the range of a gateway.
My device’s latitude,longitude is 45.75953320387659, 4.789259169782912

Many thanks
Jag

saying a gateway are close by and you should be in range is difficulty

you need to know what the terrain is like - buildings hills trees … in between the node and gateway

their is a gateway 2.07km (222°) and one at 3.46 km (72°)

you need to check the the terrain between you and the gateway

even better expand the community and install your own gatewat

1 Like

Hi @Piet_Pillay, thank you for your reply. Please can you share how you found out which gateways were nearby and the distance / direction ?
2km / 3.5km does not seem to far away but I understand that the terrain / situation could be an issue. But Could it be a misconfiguration on my end ? I have followed the instructions here

Also, would love to add my own gateway but my first experiment relied on the fact that there is no internet connection nor power to be used by the gateway.

The LDS02 is a tiny tiny device with a tiny tiny antenna. You will need to be within a 100m or less for it to work.

Search the forum for all the discussions on range - 2km / 3.5km is not far with a decent sized antenna on a device outdoors that has direct unimpeded line of sight to a gateway’s antenna.

And search the forum for how to find gateways - map on the TTN home page and TTNMapper.org!

1 Like

you can look at https://www.thethingsnetwork.org/map as well all the gateways are on this page

1 Like