LMIC-node on ESP32 not working when Heltec does

tl;dr
What is a good common off the shelf device to get in the US to test the configuration and operation of The Things Internal Gateway configured on The Things Industry Cloud.

[details]
Hi,
I am new to LoRaWAN and TTI and am interested in finding out more about it. The application domain of interest is the stabilization of time-series of residential resource consumption data (e.g. water, electricity) transmitted via LoRa to a number of specially provisioned LoRaWAN gateways in densely populated urban areas. I have been programming professionally for over 30 years, initially as what used to be referred to as ‘Systems programming’ and now work mostly in Python and databases.

For this experiment, I am pretty agnostic to everything other than LoRaWAN as I want to gauge the level of complexity with setting up (getting one application, gateway and single TTI tenant) and scaling out (getting many such things (applications X gateways X tenants) working).

@descartes advised me via Slack that The golden rule with LoRaWAN is get a gateway, a COTS device & an LMIC based device going before starting to design anything
To this end, I have:

1. TTIG gateway (in the Boston suburbs in the USA) and https://tgrid4all.nam1.cloud.thethings.industries/ instance.
  2. LMIC-node as a “LMIC-based device” with a wifi-lora-32-v2
  3. I do not have anything picked out as a COTS device but am open to suggestions for something like a temperature/humidity sensor that is known to work in the US

I have been unable to get LMIC-node working on a Heltec board with OTAA and a perusal of the forum posts suggests that this may be due to node being too close to the gateway (the messages I see in the Live Data for the gateway report a SNR of 10.25 and RSSI of -60 to -70. There is also a suggestion that Rx1 needs to be set to 5 seconds for TTNv3. Once I get a COTS device working, I will return to the LMIC-based test.

thanks in advance,
pjjH

LMIC-node