LoRaWAN for remote location with a volcano between gateway & devices

Hello there TTN community, this is my first time in this forum. :smile:

I want to deploy a lorawan network at a rural area in Guatemala for monitoring different soil and environmental parameters for a coffee field.

In specific I am interested in having a couple of end nodes with sensors on the coffee field and send the data to my gateway which is located at a distance of roughly 3 km from the field. The issue is that there is not direct line of sight between the lora gateway and the field, in fact there is a small volcano hill right in between both points.

You can take a look to what I mean with the help of the following picture:

So my question would be: would a lora based communication between my gateway and the end nodes still work under these conditions? Would you recommend a specific antenna for this case? What would be your recommendations for this particular scenario?

Its not entirely clear what is where, can you clarify where the gateway is and where the field is ?

UHF radio comms is pretty much line of sight, hills in the way will block the signals.

The recomendation would be to put the Gateway on top of the hill.

The simplest answer is if you can’t see the antenna from where the device is, things are going to be difficult.

As @LoRaTracker says, can you not put the gateway on the top of the hill - even if it uses some directional WiFi to get back to the office.

PS, please ensure you say LoRaWAN as that’s all we do here - it gets confusing if people use LoRa when they mean LoRaWAN.

@LoRaTracker sorry, yes I forgot to specify about the points.
On the white line drawn over the google maps view:
-The coffee field is found on the left end point, here is where I want to install my sensing nodes.
-The gateway is found on the other extreme of the line, on the right side.