Migrate device to new Application

Hi,
TTN Noob here. What’s the best way to move a device which is already registered in Application A over to Application B?
Thx
JP

Hi @Maj,

Would you have any ideas on this one? I’ve been searching through the forums but as yet haven’t found a straight answer…

Thx
JP

Depends of a few factors.
If it’s an OTAA device then it will need to rejoin the network when you register it in the new application. If you have physical access to the device, then just delete it from Application A (take note of DevEUI, AppEUI, AppKey), reregister in Application B and reboot the device.

If you don’t have physical access to the device, and it supports Network Link Check, then reregister and wait for it to rejoin the network.

If you don’t have physical access and it doesn’t support link check, then some further thinking is required.

2 Likes

Thanks!!
JP

I’ve seen that before, so you’re probably right, but I wonder if that’s always the case.

The scheme that TTN uses to assign a DevAddr indeed makes it impossible to, for example, move devices between regions, or from TTN to Meshed. A new join would then get it a proper DevAddr.

But when moving devices within the same region, I wonder if the command line ttnctl devices set could be used to change the DevAddr (and NwkSKey and AppSKey) after migration?

(I guess not, as on Slack @htdvisser also wrote that OTAA devices need to rejoin, though that was in the context of his migration tool. It’s actually easily tested, though maybe one successful test does not guarantee it will always work.)

Generally speaking, when you migrate a device from one network to another, the device needs to perform a new Join procedure. The Things Network treats different clusters as different networks, so if you migrate to a different cluster, the device also needs to perform a new Join procedure.

We strongly recommend to follow this :point_up:, but if that’s impossible: