RAK811 breakout pinout

Hello,

I am looking for the pinout of this RAK811 breakout from ALI :

https://fr.aliexpress.com/store/product/RAK811-RAK811-N-Sfe-petit-et-Open-Source-Conseil-de-D-veloppement-868-915-MHz-rapidement/2805180_32845848512.html

RAK811BreakBoard

It’s something like the XBEE pinout.

I connected it like this (XBEE adapter used to get it breadboard friendly):

rak811

red 3.3V
white RX
green TX
gray GND

works like a charme :slight_smile:

2 Likes

thank you very much for your help

The pins are coming out the wrong side of the PCB. The schematic is correct (Pin 1 = Vcc) but the PCB is wrong (Pin 20 = Vcc). In my case I will remove the pins and insert them on the other side of the board.
This will work for the shield on the bottom but the adapter on the top of the photo doesn’t have space for the radio module.
I wrote an email to RAK, I hope this will be corrected in the future.

hey, I’m a bit new to this… Can I use atTiny85 with RAK811? I already have temperature measurement done with attiny85, I just wonder what else would I need to send it to RAK831 gateway with Raspberry pi?
And also, can I get farther away with just upgrading to bigger antenna on gateway? (I would need arround 600m without obstacles or maby here and there some boats)

why not… if you can program it to control the RAK811

As a follow up to the pinout issue. It turned out that the board layout was fine…just the pins were soldered onto to wrong side of the board at the factory. Just like all XBees the radio is meant to be underneath. Just make sure the monkey is on top! The new RAK811s that I received all were soldered correctly.
IMG_20180807_122524

43%20AM

1 Like

Hey guysim trying to get rak811 working and send simple message to ttn but all i get is crc errors on my gateways

Any recommendations

that’s not enough information I’m afraid.

how did you connect that 811, did you use search, here or at RAK forum