Which Gateway to buy (GER)

Hello,
i am new to LORA and The Things Network. For my new hobby project i will setup a handfull pm2.5 sensor around my town (~5km).

For the Gateway i need:

• Active POE, i don’t like passive POE and i have POE Switches.
  • Outdoor. It should be useable outdoors without any case
  • Max 400 Euro
  • Low Power < 5 Watt

RAK7268 WisGate Edge Lite 2

• No Outdoor case. So i must buy some enclosure
  • Software?

The Things Outdoor Gateway

• Expensiv
  • I am not shure if i can use other Networks (like helium).
  • Quality?

Mikrotik wAP LoRa8 kit

• Good Price
  • Passive POE

Can you recommend me a gateway?

Check the Dragino DLOS8 OUTDOOR LORAWAN GATEWAY, it has 802.3af PoE.
Available at Antratek in Europe.

1 Like

Hello,

I use a Pi with an IC880A Lorawan concentrator . These 2 components in an outdoor case I recovered from our Radio Network. It all works very well for 2 years now. The Pi include a thermal sensor wich can help know how HOt it is inside the case (I’m leaving by 21°S latitude and beleive me, it’s hot).

In your place, I would go now for the following solution :

• Again an PI3 (cheaper) … because we are DIYers

• A outdoor case from RAK (here)

• A IC880A again or a RAK 2245, probably more adapted to the case and with a better heat sink

• A POE adapter for your usage. there are plenty of theses

• An convenient antenna with 3dBI as you want to do a local LoraWan system

It would cost approx 40€ + 69€ + 120€ (RAK) + 10€ + 35€ = 280€ + ports => ~ 350€

I have built a hat for the pi that can handle RF69 also so in one system, I can handle 2 protocols. Let me know if your interested. (The Radiohead library for Arduino is very impressive and is to my mind more suitable than lora for local needs, RFM69HW is far cheaper than Lorawan modules an easier to program)

Well. … forget my post …The Mikrotik gateway is much cheaper and seems to win the match …

@nikorun Thanks.

The Mikrotik Gateway has only passiv POE.