Which LoRa Module to use

I am new to LoRa and have no clue which LoRa module(s) to use in my project(s).

For now, I have a Dragino Shiled with a RF96 LoRa chip, which works fine. However, the shield is too expensive to be used in multiple projects (i.e., 1 per project). So my question is, what LoRa modules are you using in your projects? Any particular recommendation?

Well, the Dragino uses an Hope RFM96, and and they are popular for projects.

There are a couple of alternatives, such as the Dorji DRF1276 or the RN2483 which has its own LoRaWAN stck built in.

Ok cool, thanks for your feedback!

I am currently building a beehive scale using a bare bones arduino. I will power it with a 3.7 V battery, so I guess this should work with the Hope RFM 96 (3.3 V) without any voltage regulator? However, what if I were to power my bare bones Arduino with 5 V?

Also, how do you connect the RFM96? I noticed the pin holes are not the standard 2.54 mm apart… Solder an individual cables in each hole?

I recall a forum thread starting a couple of months back where folk started listing all the LoRa/LoRaWAN modules they knew of…I don’t have time right now but may be worth you searching for that, there are also lots of examples on the forum and elsewhere on the interweb of connecting & using the modules to various MCU’s and embedded boards…Use forum search or GIYF :wink: When you find something(s) you are considering its then worth asking back here for experience & guidance/gotchas to avoid/work around etc.

I will power it with a 3.7 V battery, so I guess this should work with the Hope RFM 96 (3.3 V) without any voltage regulator?

Unfortunatly your ‘3.7V battery’ is likely a LiPo, which is actually 4.2V fully charged. That exeeds the operating voltage (3.7V) and the absolute maximum voltage (3.9V) of the LoRa device and can damage it and/or lead to unreliable operation, dont do it.

However, what if I were to power my bare bones Arduino with 5 V?