• Printer types
  • Tips and tricks
2 Likes

first question … I am a 3D printing NOOB
buying or building a printer?

1 Like

Some thingiverse links:

1 Like

You beat me too it per @BoRRoZ suggestion…I stopped to open a few favourites relevant to TTN so I could paste some starting links :wink:

Two 3d printed GW holders:-

And one laser cut/wood version (ok not 3d printed in plastic but better for the environment?! :-):sunglasses:

Cheers, more later/tomorrow :wink:

2 Likes

And for the Arduino or Rpi hacker in your life how about:-

:slight_smile:

Just a simple 3D print,

Circle shape in tinkercad with the SVG import function.

Single colour STL as I only have a single extruder, pause at Z plugin in cura.

Simple TTN Community Badge printed :slight_smile:

IMG_20180224_174043045%20(2)

Planning on 3D printing a case for my new Gateway board soon too.

2 Likes

Didn’t want to invest too much so I’ve started a year ago with Prusa Clone… Geeetech I3 B Pro DYI (150 EUR) but is not for noobs :D. Needs a lot of tuning until you get it running. But once it is running it is a decent printer for the money.

If you can find one second-hand, already assembled, that works I would recommend.

It is important to have an acryl frame.

Recently I purchased a Geeetech E180 (wanted a desk printer). Great design, good hardware, small, for noobs, but the FW isn’t finished/buggy. Since is relatively new, I would wait few months until the fw works and the production issues are solved.

This is my very lightly modified case for my gateway:

What printer did you used?

I have a chinese Prusa Clone (ANET A10 I think) However it’s had lots of modifications primarily being it uses an genuine E3D Hotend & Titan Extruder combo.

I use a Wanhao i3. Fantastic tinkerer’s machine for the price. Rock solid chassis and loads of upgrade you can print/buy for it. You can get some really good quality from it if you invest the time to get it lined up properly.