LoRaWAN stack for nRF5x and SX1276

Not satisfied with RN2483 (bulky, taking 50uA sleeping) I am thinking about writing lightweight LoRaWAN stack (class A1/A2) for nordic bluetooth radios and SX1276/RFM95. Initialy I started playing with LMIC for mbed but found it incompatible with each other mainly because how they do “cooperative” multitasking in main control loops - both softdevice (BLE) and lmic have own loops. Moreover, AES software implementation is too heavy for nRF51 RAM wasting embeded AES hardware on chip. With nRF5x and SX1276 we can easily get below 10uA, depending on BLE broadcasting interval.
Anyway, if it is worth the effort, would it be interesting for others to have both radios driven by single SoC and programmed with mbed?
Thanks,
Peter

Have you looked into the Laird RM1XX module?

It’s certified LoRa + Bluetooth.

I am planning to try the same thing. Waiting for my Nordic BLE board to arrive.

Are you using a github repository?

Great module but comes without software. I mean their weird Basic can not be considered a software for anything beyond one-off weekend project.

GitHub most likely. I am just doing feasibility study now, but so far everything looks good. Small obstacle about AES decryption will have to be in software since nordics chip can just encrypt in hw. Right now, I am running on my custom hardware, but for development anything from BLE nano to nordics DK will do.

I think that’s no problem! In LoRaWan only the AES encryption algorighm is necessary on a node. If I remember correctly, the network encrypts messages by applying AES decryption to it. Decryption on a node can then be done by applying AES encryption to the message…

I don’t agree :laughing: