Round the World Automated Boat

Hey folks,

I’m new to IoT and TTN but I have set myself a big challenge for fun. I’m planning to build a model boat which will (hopefully!) go around the world.

The plan is to have a solar panel on the top and have it controlled by an internal Rasp Pi.

I thought it would be fun to be able to track it’s progress but the usual method of doing this through satellite communication is expensive and battery intensive.

My next thought is to search out open Lora Gateways as it travels around the world. If it finds one, it can check in, if not it caches the data locally until it can find a gateway and the it uploads the historic data too.

I guess my question is, do you think this is an option? I’ve read that Lora can reach 100’s of KM with line of sight, so there is a good chance that the signal will get far enough out to see for the boat to check in at some point.

I’ve never used Lora, or had a model boat before so any thoughts, ideas or suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

Cheers, Dochas.

Yes, but thats when the transmitter is often at high altitude, several kms.

With the height of an antenna on a model boat at sea you might not get very far at all. To get even a few kms at sea you going to need gateways on very tall buildings close to the coast. Unfortunatly the Earth is very bendy.

There is also the very significant issue that the settings and frequency plans for TTN Gateways vary depending on where you are in the World, so some form of geofencing capabity is needed. And for the different frequency bands you would really need a sepearte LoRa module (and antenna) for each band.

TTN is not designed for Worldwide coverage …

Hi!

Thanks for your response. I love your comment that the Earth is very bendy. You are right! No Flat Earthers here! :smile:

Please forgive my ignorant persistence…