Patching my network together

Hi,

I’m rather new to LoRa, been working on it for the past few weeks for my internship but I just can’t get all the parts to connect to each other.

After a lot of trouble I managed to connect my Raspberry Pi+dragino LoRa+GPS HAT to the things network (was stuck with the decrepit one channel packet forwarder, now using the dual channel one by bokse001).

But my question basically boils down to: How can I send a “hello world” from my Arduino nano+RFM95W chip to my Pi+Dragino which then passes it to the things network? Or am I completely misunderstanding how this should work?

I thank you for your time, hope to get some answers.

That is not a fix and disturbs the use of the LoRaWAN network for others. Please get a LoRaWAN (8 channel) GW not a unit designed for LoRa-LoRa use cases. As a newbie please read the documentation and use Forum search (top right) and you will find a lot of info and guidance…also on similar topic search for payload and hello world - use byte stuffing and simple payloads not ASCII text strings! :slight_smile: Very inefficient wrt spectrum use and time on air etc. (again Search!!!)

Could you explain in what way it disturbs the use of the network for others? (though, I don’t really have the liberty to switch it around, also, it will only run for about an hour once my project is over, but I would still like to know)

I have been searching of course, but it’s a real issue how fragmented all the information is, things get outdated or decrepit in like a year or two since it’s creation.

Basically my project only consists of: Make a working LoRa system, make it send a package, document how I got it to work. which should be easy (it hasn’t been) and won’t be a nuisance for long (my internship is over in 4 weeks)

Do understand that the TTN forum does not want to act as a repository of ‘fixes’ for non TTN compliant devices.